Pippin 50th Anniversary Concert - London Musical Theatre Orchestra

Katy Lipson for Aria Entertainment & Carter Dixon McGill Productions

Pippin 50th Anniversary Concert

29 Apr - 30 Apr 2024

Theatre Royal Drury Lane

There’s magic to do in the 50th anniversary concert production of PIPPIN at the iconic Theatre Royal Drury Lane starring Tony Award-winning Broadway star of Shucked, Grammy nominated Alex Newell and featuring the 20-piece London Musical Theatre Orchestra and 50-strong choir.

With an infectiously unforgettable score from four-time Grammy winner, three-time Oscar winner and musical theatre giant, Stephen Schwartz, including the classic songs Corner of the Sky and Magic to Do, Pippin is a soul-searching exploration of one man’s journey to find himself, his place and purpose in life.

Heir to the Frankish throne, the young prince Pippin is in search of the secret to true happiness and fulfilment. He seeks it in the glories of the battlefield, the temptations of the flesh and the intrigues of political power (after disposing of his father, King Charlemagne the Great). In the end, though, Pippin finds that happiness lies not in extraordinary endeavours, but rather in the unextraordinary moments that happen every day.

Stephen Schwartz said: “Although there have been some excellent recent productions of Pippin in the UK, the show never gets to be heard with a full live orchestra and choir. This concert, with a cast led by the astonishing Alex Newell and produced under the always first-rate auspices of Katy Lipson’s Aria Entertainment and Carter Dixon McGill, promises to be a once-in-a-blue-moon event. I for one cannot wait to experience it!”


Alex Newell

Lead Player

Patricia Hodge


Lucie Jones


Cedric Neal


Zizi Strallen


Jac Yarrow


Ryan Heenan


Idriss Cargo


Amonik Melaco


Jak Allen-Anderson


Sally Frith


Gleanne Purcell-Brown



Stephen Schwartz

Music and Lyrics

Roger O. Hirson


Jonathan O'Boyle


Chris Ma

Musical Director

Joanna Goodwin


Polly Sullivan

Set and Costume Design

Jamie Platt

Lighting Design

Adam Fisher

Sound Design

Simon Nathan

Orchestration Expansion

Larry Hochman

Original Orchestration

Jane Deitch


Related Posts

© 2024 London Musical Theatre Orchestra.

Design & Build by 6rs